The EAOM was founded in 1998. The concept was initiated when Professors Miguel Lucas-Tomas (Spain), Jens Pindborg (Denmark), Sir David Mason (United Kingdom), and Dr Dean Millard (United States) met in Madrid, Spain, in 1991 to discuss a multinational association of oral medicine. There were subsequent meetings with other colleagues in Granada, Spain (1993), Belfast (1995), and London (1997) and then, in London in 1998, Professors Isaac van der Waal (Netherlands) and Crispian Scully (United Kingdom) formally founded the EAOM along with Professors Sir David Mason, Tony Axéll (Scandinavia), Antonio Azul (Portugal), and Stephen Challacombe (United Kingdom). The first official EAOM congress was held in Amsterdam in 1998 under Professor van der Waal, the first EAOM president. The EAOM has currently 316 active members from a majority of European countries, such as Albania, Austria, Croatia, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, and Wales. Non-European delegates are increasing, including those from Australasia, Brazil, Canada, Iran, Israel, Japan, Kuwait, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, and the United States. The affiliated EAOM journal is Oral Diseases.

EAOM Presidents

  • 1998–2000, Isaäc van der Waal (Netherlands)
  • 2000–2002, Antonio Mano Azul (Portugal)
  • 2002–2004, Crispian Scully (United Kingdom)
  • 2004–2006, Antonio Carrassi (Italy)
  • 2006–2008, Peter Reichart (Germany)
  • 2008–2010, Stephen Challacombe (United Kingdom)
  • 2010–2012, José Vicente Bagán (Spain)
  • 2012–2014, Stephen Porter (United Kingdom)
  • 2014–2016, Alexandra Sklavounou (Greece)
  • 2016–2018, Marco Carrozzo (Italy)
  • 2018–2021, Nikolaos G. Nikitakis (Greece)


Region 1
Regional Representative: Barbara Carey (United Kingdom)
Countries: United Kingdom and Ireland

Region 2
Regional Representative: Camilla Kragelund (Denmark)
Countries: Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, and Denmark.

Region 3
Regional Representative: Dr Monika Schwaninger
Countries: Germany, Poland, Hungary, Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Switzerland, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, and Liechtenstein.

Region 4
Regional Representative: Dr Luis Monteiro (Portugal)
Countries: France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Andorra, Malta, San Marino, Monaco, and Vatican City.

Region 5
Regional Representative: Athanasios Poulopoulos (Greece)
Countries: Russia, Ukraine, Romania, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Greece, Bulgaria, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Armenia, Albania, North Macedonia, Turkey, Israel, Slovenia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, and Georgia.

Region 6
Regional Representative: Ross Kerr (USA)
Countries: Rest of the world